Skip to content

Saucy Colombian Hogao

April 6, 2011

Simplicity is so important in my life. I really don’t like to complicate things in my life. Any shortcut is favored as far as I’m concerned. When it comes to cooking, I’m the same way. It took me months before I could muster up the strength to attempt to make cinnamon rolls. Which by the way, turned out amazing. I would break out in a sweat just thinking about making it. Who likes to sweat over their food? I know I don’t. I just like simple cooking. Rafael is the same way. He is the master of simplicity in the kitchen. Which leads me to the hogao (oh-gow) recipe.

Hogao is a simple yet key recipe in many latin kitchens. In our house it is used in almost everything that we cook. It can be used as a dipping sauce, a base or a topping. Every household could fight over how they prepare their hogao. But at the end of the day everyone can admit that it is a staple for any Colombian home. Whichever way you use it it is sure to be gone a household favorite.

Ingredients:

4 ripe roma tomatoes

1 medium onion

3 oz fresh chopped cilantro

4 tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

salt/pepper

1/2 tsp ground cumin

Directions:

  1. In a sauté pan add the oil, onions, tomatoes, garlic cloves, cumin, salt and pepper.
  2. Cook over medium heat until all the ingredients start to break down. You want to onions to be transparent.Roughly 20 minutes.
  3. Add the chopped cilantro to the pan and cook for another 5 minutes.
  4. Remove from the heat and serve.

Told you it was simple. I mean really, 4 steps? Can’t get any easier than that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 3:35 pm

    I am totally with you..I don’t like complicate things in my life as well..and this dish is beautiful and look really tasty! Thanks so much for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

