Skip to content

Sopa de Avena (Oatmeal Soup)

April 14, 2011

So my husband leaves for work at 5am in the morning and before he heads out he says, “Amor? Me haces un favor? Puedes hacer una sopa de avena, por fis?” (“Honey? Can you do me a favor? Can you make oatmeal soup please?”) To which I respond half out of it and half confused because I’d never heard of it before and it is still too early to process information, “Sopa de ¿qué?

¿Qué es sopa de avena? ¿Cómo la hago? (“What soup? What is oatmeal soup? How do I make it?) Well, he rattled off a few ingredients and directions and then screams before shutting the door, “Bueno, nos vemos chao!” (“Ok, I’ll see you later, bye.”) And now I’m left trying to figure out how I was just given cooking instructions at 5am for a dish I have never heard of and I’m supposed to make this work. I think he has a little too much confidence in me.

Well, I did make it and to my surprise he comes home and takes a sip and says, “Wow, amorcito está rica. ¿Cómo la hiciste? No lo puedo creer, está muy deliciosa, mejor que las que he probado.”  (“Wow, sweetie this is good. How did you do it? I can’t believe it, it’s so delicious. It’s better than any I’ve ever tasted.”) So, I guess I CAN cook. I mean if I was able to crank out a soup that I had never heard of before and make it better than what my husband is used to, then I might just be on to something. 3 bonus points for me!

Ingredients:

3 large carrots, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

4 cups low-sodium chicken stock (I didn’t have any so I made my own chicken broth and used that)

salt/pepper

1/2 tbsp thyme

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp cilantro

1-2 cups oatmeal depending on how thick you want the soup  (NOT the instant kind)

pinch of sugar

2 tbsp butter

Directions:

  1. In a large pot sauté the onions and carrots in the butter until the onions are translucent.
  2. Add the chicken stock to the pot and bring to a boil.
  3. Season the broth with the thyme, oregano, cilantro, salt and pepper.
  4. Once boiling add your oatmeal and turn down the heat to medium-high. Let the soup simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. The soup should be thick and the oatmeal fully cooked. Add the pinch of sugar just to zing up the flavor (this is totally optional).
  6. Serve.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chiana Tracy permalink
    April 14, 2011 9:26 am

    Keep the food acomin’! Lol! I can’t wait until I have the time to make one of your recipes. I want to try one this weekend but we’ll see :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

