Skip to content

Arepuelas

January 27, 2011

Are-WHAT!!!??? I know, maybe we should give out spanish lessons as well.  It’s pronounced A-re-pwell-as. They are delicious little cakes.  More like pancakes if you will.  The only difference is that they are a tad bit thicker and sweeter than pancakes.  I must admit that this in not my recipe.  It’s my hubby’s.  And it all occured by happenstance. They day before I had made some pannycakes (a.k.a pancakes; there’s a story behind this) and left the batter in the refrigerator.  So the next day, my husband wakes up and is rumbling through the kitchen trying to get inspired for breakfast.  He looks into the fridge and finds the pancake batter.  He tastes it, thinks a minute, adds a few more shakes of sugar and says, “Se me ocurre una idea. ¿Qué tal hacer unas arepuelas?” (“I just had an idea. What if I make some arepuelas?”)

Are-¿¿¿Qué??? Parece que ahora nos toca dar lecciones de comida latina.  Sí, éstas son arepuelas. Son deliciosas. Son como pancakes americanos pero son mas gruezas y mas dulces. Admito que esta no es mi receta, es de mi esposito. Pero todo ocurrió sin querer.  El día anterior hice unos ‘pannycakes’ (pancakes; hay un cuento detrás de esto) y dejé la masa en la nevera. El día siguiente, mi esposo se despertó y fue buscando algo en la cocina para inspirarse a hacer el desayuno. Buscó en la nevera y estaba la masa. La probó, pensó por un minuto y dijo, “Se me ocurre una idea. ¿Qué tal hacer unas arepuelas?”

I’m then thinking, ‘Umm….what did he just say? Arepueloosas? I’ve never heard that word before.’ After a 2 minute spanish and colombian food culture lesson, I then say, “Ah, ya. Quieres decir ‘pancakes’. Sí, está bien.” (Oh, you mean pancakes. Sure that’s fine.) I know, it’s a bicultural household. But it produces great meals.  Like this one.

Estaba pensando, ‘¿mmm, Que dijo? ¿Are-qué qué? Nunca había escuchado esa palabra.’ Después de una lección de español y comida colombiana dije, “Ah, ya! Quieres decir ‘pancakes.’ Sí, está bien.” Sí, lo sé, un hogar bicultural. Pero el resultado es excelente comida como esta.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

4 teaspoons sugar

pinch of salt

2 cups milk

1 egg

oil (to fry)

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients except oil into a mixing bowl.
  2. Coat your frying pan with the oil.
  3. Ladle out small portions of the mix into the pan.
  4. Once bubbles start to form, turn over cake and continue to cook until golden.  Repeat until there’s no more batter.

Ingredientes:

1 taza harina de trigo

4 cucharaditas de azúcar

pizca de sal

2 tazas de leche

1 huevo

aceite (para freír)


Preparación:

  1. Mezcla todos los ingredientes excepto el aceite en un bol.
  2. Cubre el sartén con aceite.
  3. Vierte varias porciones pequeñas en el sartén.
  4. Al burbujear, voltea y continua cocinando hasta que queden doradas. Repíte hasta acabar la masa.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 10:33 pm

    This looks like something I’d like…that is, if it’s related to pancakes…hey, thanks for the add on FoodBuzz!

    • February 3, 2011 10:37 pm

      They’re certainly related. They’re like the red-headed step-child. They don’t get much attention but they’re a delight. Thanks for accepting me on FB.

  2. February 5, 2011 6:37 am

    Such a yummy comfort dish, I could just imagine the wonderful aroma, when you were cooking it.
    Thank your for the add on foodbuzz. Will be back againto visit your blog!

    • February 5, 2011 1:26 pm

      The smell is awesome. I’m so glad my husband opened my eyes to this great little dish.

  3. February 8, 2011 7:12 pm

    Yum! These were certainly a fortunate ‘accident.’ =)

    • February 8, 2011 7:24 pm

      Thanks to my hubby. The photo isn’t great because we started off taking pics from my iPhone. But once we got serious we switched to my Canon. But if we make them again I’ll post a better pic because this doesn’t do them justice.

Leave a Reply

