Skip to content

Blackberry-Mango Bread/Pan de mango y mora

February 17, 2011

So what are you supposed to do with 2lbs of blackberries and a big old mango? Make bread. Duh!! So my hands got to work and they turned out this wondeful masterpiece that is blackberry-mango bread.

It’s so soft, fruity, flavorful and moist. Actually, it’s ridiculously moist which is always a problem when making breads. And do you see these delicious pieces of mango and blackberry? I mean just look at it, stare at it for like 2 minutes.  Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating but man does this look yummy.

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1/2 cup vegetable oil (or any type of oil you prefer)

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup chopped blackberries

1  large chopped mango

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF/175ºC and grease a 9×5 loaf pan.
  2. In a medium sized mixing bowl mix together all the dry ingredients and set aside.
  3. In another mixing bowl combine all the wet ingredients and mix well.
  4. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix well.
  5. Into the same bowl place the blackberries and mango and mix gently into the batter.
  6. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and place into the oven, cooking for 35-40 minutes. If when a toothpick is inserted into the center and it comes out clean, then it’s ready.
  7. Remove from the oven and let rest for 5-10 minutes. Serve.
19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 6:23 pm

    Me encanta mora!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

    • February 17, 2011 6:41 pm

      Sí, es muy rica, ¿no? Afortunadamente aquí en Bogotá tenemos toda fruta a nuestro alcance así que tengo la ventaja de ir al mercado y comprar mora fresca.

  2. February 17, 2011 7:23 pm

    MMMM..so moist and I love those beautiful colors..and it does look extremely delicious!

  3. February 17, 2011 7:42 pm

    I’ve been looking for a cake to make, to use up some rhubarb and blueberries I have in the freezer, I wonder if I could substitute!

    • February 17, 2011 7:47 pm

      Most definitely. I must admit I’m the only person in the world who hasn’t eaten rhubarb. But I am familiar with it and I think it would go great with blueberries and the recipe. Give it a try and hopefully we’ll get to see the end result.

  4. February 17, 2011 9:13 pm

    Sweet bread is a great pick-me-up …especially when it is made with berries…yum. Yours looks wonderful! I have never had bread with mango, but that sounds really good.

  5. February 18, 2011 7:52 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  6. February 22, 2011 11:10 pm

    Oh yum! Blackberry and Mango, very intriguing combination of flavors! (A mi tambien me gustan mucho las moras!!!) You make it look so easy to make that I may give it a go too!!! Thanks for sharing!

    • February 22, 2011 11:58 pm

      Thanks! Gracias. The flavors are awesome. The blackberries just literally burst in your mouth. And yes, it was terribly easy. Let me know how it turns out.

  7. Miranda permalink
    February 23, 2011 1:01 am

    WOW…this looks amazing. I’m already concocting other flavor combinations in my head based on what I have on hand. Unfortunately, nothing sounds quite as good as mango and blackberries!

    • February 23, 2011 1:04 am

      Thanks Miranda. We appreciate the comment. You could go to town with all different kinds of options for this bread. But this just took the cake for me. No pun intended.

  8. February 27, 2011 2:40 pm

    What a delightful combination!

  9. March 2, 2011 2:37 am

    Mmmmm, this looks so good. I, also, have not had bread with mango but it is probably similar to a peach bread. I will have to make this. I’m sure our mangoes right now are nowhere as right and sweet as what you have available.

    Anyways- I love your blog and want to pass on a Stylish Blogger Award to you! Check out the link to get more info and instructions.

    Looking forward to seeing more good food!

  10. Stella permalink
    April 29, 2011 4:35 pm

    What am I doing wrong??
    My bread, I’d rather call it cake, has been baking for almost an hour and the knife still comes out very wet??
    Is timing different when you are at se level??(Miami, FL.) I know Bogota it’s quite high on a mountain. Please comment.

    • April 29, 2011 5:01 pm

      Yes Sidney, timing is definitely different. Bogotá is extrememly high above sea level and therefore timing is different. What you could do is up the temperature of your oven. That will lessen your baking time. Just keep an eye out on it. It’s funny because when I try recipes off the internet or other blogs, I have to adjust the temp and cooking time myself. If I followed the recipe exactly as written, I’d never have a tasty, edible product. Sorry for not mentioning that earlier. But I hope it turns out great. And yes, it is a lot more moist and cake-ier than normal “breads”. But that’s what I loved about it.

Trackbacks

  1. Blackberry-Mango Bread | Food Frenzy

Leave a Reply

