Skip to content

Super Creamy Spinach Bites

March 3, 2011

Is it just me or are there days when you’re just stumped as far as what to cook? You could have a refrigerator full of food and still be standing there looking at it with that puzzled look of, ‘???????????’ Yeah, the question marks are a look.  What it means, I don’t know. It’s up for personal interpretation. But the point is that for me, and I assume many others, it can take more than 5 minutes to come up with a menu for dinner, breakfast or anytime of the day. Especially when you’re invited somewhere.

My husband and I were invited over to my cousin’s house and his wife was expecting me to cook something spectacular. Yeah, well I am no spectacular cook, so I don’t know what in the world she was thinking about. I mean, why would she think that. I mean, I might cook some nice looking and delicious things but that doesn’t make me Ina Garten….or does it? (short pause……) NAHHHH!!!!!! I’m a work in progress.  But I love any opportunity to cook. So I told her cool, no problem. But then she threw me the Top Chef challenge, “Pero, acuérdate Jasmin, soy vegetariana” (“Remember Jasmin, I’m vegetarian”). I’m thinking sarcastically, ‘Yeah, of course you are. How could I forget? Great, this will be fun.’ So I thought for 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes, and then it came to me- spinach bites.  Now most people think of spinach bites as little balls of spinach. Umm….yeah, not my idea.

I figured that I would make a pastry bite with spinach. I love anything with pastry dough. Because I’m a reformed Pillsbury doughgirl and anything with dough and butter just naturally goes together for me.Well, I made it and brought them over expecting her to look at me like, ‘Cute. Where’s the rest?’ To the contrary.  She was so thrilled at the end result and almost died after taking the first bite. She couldn’t stop eating them, I mean really, she couldn’t stop eating them. She had me thinking, ‘That white powder substance was flour…wasn’t it?’ I know she just had a baby like 3 weeks before that, but I guess cravings stay around for weeks afterwards, huh? Everyone was raving about it and it made me so happy. Two points scored for team A Touch of Rojo. Yay!!!!

Ingredients:

4 oz cream cheese (1/2 block Philadelphia Cream Cheese)

1 cup shredded white cheese (I used queso doble crema. But you could experiment with flavors)

Salt/Pepper to taste

1 egg

1 tbsp butter

1 lb fresh spinach (I imagine that this would be the equivalent of 1 small block of frozen spinach)

Pastry dough from Spinach and Onion Galette Recipe

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF/175ºC.
  2. Follow directions for making the pastry dough as directed in the Spinach and Onion Galette Recipe. Store in the refrigerator for about 1 hr.
  3. While pastry dough is refrigerating, wash and clean your spinach leaves if using fresh spinach. If using frozen spinach, thaw and drain before using.
  4. Butter a small pan and add fresh spinach to pan and sautee on medium heat until spinach has wilted.
  5. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the cream cheese, shreeded cheese and egg. Mix together and then add salt and pepper. Mix thoroughly.
  6. Once spinach has cooled, add to the cheese mixture. If using frozen spinach, just add it directly to the cheese mixture once thoroughly drained.
  7. Remove dough from refrigerator and transfer it onto a lined cookie sheet. (S/N: We don’t have a cookie sheet, so I used a baking dish and lightly greased and floured it)
  8. Roll out dough to desired length and thickness.
  9. With a spatula, spread the spinach and cheese mixture on the dough and set in oven to bake for about 30 minutes or until the cheese has thoroughly set.
  10. Let cool for a few mintues. Cut into desired pieces and serve.

*Yeah, I know the pictures are a little interesting. I tried to adjust the color but it didn’t work. We’re still learning about food photography and trying to apply what we learn. Please be patient with us 🙂 *

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Saundra Fierro permalink
    March 4, 2011 3:09 pm

    You go girl!!!!! wow these spinach bites looks like something from the restaurant…oh I’m sorry it is from “A Touch of Rojo”. Very good…keep them coming! Taking a bite now…
    OMGosh!!! very tasty…

  2. March 4, 2011 9:09 pm

    Oh my, that looks incredible. I will take the whole plate please!!!

  3. March 5, 2011 12:36 am

    This is just so amazing..I love this kind of dish, it can be for lunch, brunch, breakfast..late dinner..I mean anything! Thumps up from me!!

    • March 5, 2011 2:46 am

      That’s what I say Sandra, it’s an anytime of the day meal. Thanks for the thumbs up.

  4. March 5, 2011 4:54 am

    OH that looks so good! Creamy cheesy spinach bites… nothing is better than that.

  5. January 1, 2013 2:43 pm

    Congratulations! We wanted to inform you that this post has been selected as a Featured Archive Post on our site for the first two weeks of January 2013.

Leave a Reply

