Skip to content

And The Award Goes To…

March 9, 2011
tags: , ,

Well, Award Season is coming to an end, but there’s still one award left out there to be given…The Stylish Blog Award.  My fellow blogger over at Homestyle Cooking Around The World decided to honor us with this award. We were certainly surprised when we received this award. It’s funny because I, Jasmin, opened the e-mail and saw the comment and was like, ‘Wow…how cool is that?’ Then when my husband got home, I explained to him in Spanish what this all meant in blogger world and like 3 minutes later it semi-clicked and he said, “Wow, tan chévere. Y ¿Qué significa? ¿Le gustó el blog?” (“Wow, that’s cool. And what does this mean? She liked the blog?”) So I had to re-explain what this meant and then he got it. Yeah, sometimes it takes a minute but hey, we both are new to this.

As mentioned before, Homestyle Cooking has a great blog. She focuses on international cooking, which I think is outstanding. I commend anyone who attempts to master or at least replicate a culinary dish outside of their own culture. The results look pretty good as well- so go check her out. Oh, and thanks for the award. In the words of my husband, ‘Gracias por el premio.’

My husband and I started this blog with the purpose of sharing our culinary adventures with our friends and family who live in many parts of the world. Getting married and moving to another country all at the same time is a tad difficult, if I may say. Thankfully, everything worked out smoothly and beautifully. However, there are times when home-sickness will show it’s evil head. But the one place that really calms me is being in the kitchen. Actually, it calms us both. There are times when my husband is frustrated, upset or stressed about something and he will go into the kitchen, turn on some music (depending on his mood it could be Colombian salsa, balads or it could be Lady Gaga, Beyoncé, Shakira, Rihanna or any American Pop singer) and pull out masterpieces on a plate.

Now that I generally work from home I have more time on my hands to dedicate to cooking as well as my other love- crafting. So get ready because you’ll definitely see more of that around here as well. But at the end of the day, food just seems to be the bond that holds us two together. We’re emotional eaters, in the sense that when we eat, all different types of emotions can be felt-nostalgia, happiness, pain, disgust, ecstasy, comfort, greed, glutony, tranquility, you name it. (not sure if these would be classified as emotions- but I went ahead and did it).

So enough of the Oprah moment. That’s my long speech. Now let’s get on with the real stuff.

According to the rules I must:

  1. Thank the person who gave me the award, make a post, and put a link back to the person. (Check)
  2. Share 7 things about myself. (Read below)
  3. Pass the award to 10 recently discovered great bloggers. (Read below #2)
  4. Contact these bloggers and personally tell them about the award. (Umm…yeah, you can’t see that part)

7 Things About Myself (Since it’s a 2 person blog, I’ll also share about my husband):

  1. I hate chocolate. I can’t stand the flavor. I don’t eat chocolate cake, ice cream, syrup, solid chocoalte candy bars, milk or anything beginning or that contains chocolate. HOWEVER, I love a snickers bar, german chocolate cake, anything red velvet (if you didn’t know, the real things contains cocoa powder), anything with white chocolate and brownies. Go figure!
  2. Even though my husband is from Colombia, the land of Vallenato (folk music originating from Colombia that includes the acordeon as it’s principle instrument), he doesn’t like listening nor dancing to it. Believe me, it’s a big thing here.
  3. My husband doesn’t like to eat cooked carrots. Only raw carrots. He thinks that squash is horrible because it cooks into a yellow-orange color and based on that alone he starts to gag.
  4. I taught myself Spanish. In school I was in Spanish classes but upon graduating I hung around my friends and moved to other countries (2) where I would study their sentences and phrases and then would practice what I heard at home. Now I am a Spanish Interpreter. I guess hard work does pay off.
  5. I am a Nationally Certified ASL (American Sign Language) Interpreter with a Master Certification.
  6. My husband and I are both 27 years old, born on the same numerical day in different months (Rafael- 30th of December, Jasmin- 30th of January.
  7. I have permanent titanium screws in my hips due to a tree fall at age 12.

10 Blogs We’d Like to Share This Award With:

http://loveeatrun.com/

http://youngwifey.wordpress.com/

http://catslovecooking.com/

http://littlemisshealthify.wordpress.com/

http://twofacedchef.com/

http://coffeeandthepaper.wordpress.com/

http://peasoupeats.wordpress.com/

http://leaandjay.wordpress.com/

http://katesrecipebox.wordpress.com/

http://tastespace.wordpress.com/

We were impressed and intrigued by these 10 bloggers and from what we’ve seen they haven’t been awarded yet. We wanted to give this award to those who might not have the Pioneer Woman status, but are stars in their own kitchen. At least that’s how we feel about ourselves. So keep up the good work everyone!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 3:42 pm

    Wow..I love knowing more about you guys!
    No chocolate…hmm interesting! I really like your honest answers, and congrats on the Award

    • March 9, 2011 4:32 pm

      Thanks for the interest and excitement of getting to know us. We love talking…I know I do and we enjoy sharing our stories and history with other. Thanks for the congrats.

  2. March 9, 2011 6:07 pm

    Congratulations on the award and thank you for passing it along!

    I think it is awesome that you are certified in sign language. I am in awe of anyone who can speak two languages…and you can “speak” three!

  3. March 31, 2011 3:02 am

    Nice to learn more about you both. Was just “wondering around” your blog again- found more goodies to try. Also am liking the jewelry posts.

    • March 31, 2011 4:49 pm

      We appreciate the compliment and the fact that you are liking the jewelry posts. We were scared that people would dislike the change but we’re glad that there are a few who are liking it. Hopefully enough to buy some. hahahaha

  4. March 31, 2011 5:14 am

    Hi Jasmin & Rafael! I enjoyed reading your 7 facts 😀 Thank you so much for awarding me!

Leave a Reply

