Skip to content

Spanish Chorizo Pizza Balls

March 10, 2011

Raise your hand if you like pizza. Okay, you can put your hands down now. What type do you like? I know that’s a loaded question.  But really, what kind of toppings do you like on your pizza? Some might say plain cheese, veggies, chicken, four cheeses, various types of meats, or the works. Then there’s the question of crust. In my house, there’s always a debate before calling Pizza Hut. I say hand-tossed, my sister says panned, and my mom wants thin crust. Poor dad, he just sits in the corner and waits until it comes then resurfaces to eat. Well, no matter the choices, everyone around the world has come to love this wonderful dish.

I was thinking to myself how to create something different with pizza.  Not like a deep dish but something totally new and different. Well, I took to the internet to help stir the creative juices and happened to see this post on Chaos In The Kitchen with a recipe for pizza bites. It was just what I was looking for, except the pepperoni. So I just decided to make a few alterations and produced this awesome recipe.

*Adapted from Chaos In The Kitchen’s recipe only using 1 pie pan and 1 pizza dough recipe*

Ingredients:

4 medium-sized chorizos

8 oz cubed white cheese (I used queso doble crema but you can use whatever suites your tastebuds)

Italian seasoning (I just used oregano and thyme)

1/4 tbsp olive oil

pizza dough recipe

Dijon Marinara Sauce:

*My own creation. This recipe is not included in Chaos In The Kitchen’s Version*

1 tbsp dijon mustard

3 tbsp tomato paste

salt/pepper to taste

2 tbsp ketchup

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF/220ºC and grease 1 pie pan.
  2. Prepare the pizza dough according to it’s directions and then begin to slice the chorizo into nickle sized round pieces.
  3. Pinch a walnut sized piece of the pizza dough off (maybe a little bigger) and place a slice of chorizo and 2 cubes of white cheese into the dough. Seal the dough around the meat and cheese and place seam side down in pie pan. If you see that more meat can be stuffed into the dough then you may add more. But the fuller the mix the harder it will be to cover.
  4. Repeat until you have filled your pie plate.
  5. Once filled, drizzle the oil over the balls and sprinkle with the Italian seasoning.
  6. Place in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until golden.
  7. Remove and serve with marinara sauce.

Dijon Marinara Sauce:

  1. In a small bowl mix tomato paste, dijon mustard, ketchup, salt and pepper together.
  2. Serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 12:57 am

    I’ve never heard of spanish chorizo pizza balls before but I am so glad I found your blog. This sounds soo delicious. I can’t wait to try this recipe out.

    • March 11, 2011 1:13 am

      Thanks for finding us and being interested in our recipe. Come to think of it, I’ve never heard of them either. But that’s what makes it so original…well, semi-original since I borrowed the pizza idea from Chaos In The Kitchen. (bashful look on face)

  2. March 11, 2011 2:02 am

    Yum! Yum! Yum! I haven’t heard of this before either, but it sure looks delicious.

  3. March 11, 2011 7:23 pm

    These sound so tasty! I love that you used chorizo inside the little pizza balls. Looks like a great dinner!

  4. March 11, 2011 7:36 pm

    Oh, that looks nice. I could imagine how my family will be thrilled to have a dish like that!
    For more funny recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that interest you.

    • March 13, 2011 12:14 am

      I’m sure your family would be thrilled to eat this as well. We really couldn’t stop eating this.

  5. March 12, 2011 1:15 pm

    These look seriously delicious!

Leave a Reply

