Skip to content

Something New, Something Different / Algo Nuevo, Algo Diferente

March 11, 2011

Llaveros con tagua

We are by no means popular in the blogging world. Heck, we can barely take a good enough picture to get people to really notice us on other sites. But for those who do follow us or have accidentally found us on the web, you all know that we have dedicated this site to cooking and everything food related. However, due to work changes, I have been left with a lot of time on my hands. So instead of staring at a big flat screen all day long eagerly awaiting until E! News comes on at 12pm I figured that I would put my hands to work and do something that I’ve always enjoyed doing- crafting. More specifically jewelry making.

When I lived here in Bogotá about 5 years ago, I was staying with a family that is very close to me. The youngest daughter and I would always hang out together and she turned me on to Colombian artesanias (ar-te-san-eeh-as; crafts). We would make earrings, beaded rings, beaded necklaces, knitted beaded necklaces, practically everything. When I got back to the States I kept up the hobby but then got so busy working again, moving to another country, working some more, planning a wedding, that I had put crafting on the back burner. But now, I have been inspired to get back to one of my favorite activities.

So here is some of my work. I will be showcasing some other things on a regular basis so please look out for upcoming posts.  I know some people would rather food posts to stay as food posts.  However, as mentioned before, this blog is an outlet for us to show our friends and family what we’re doing here since we can’t personally be with them. Plus, I think it’s a nice way to let others see something that they normally don’t see on other craft blogs- colombian crafting.

Llaveros/ Key chains

Llavero de tagua / Tagua key chain

Llavero de tagua color beige / Beige colored 'tagua' key chain

Llavero de tagua / Key chain featuring 'tagua'

You will notice that these key chains feature a seed called tagua (tah-gwah). Tagua is basically an ivory nut. It is a vegetable ivory and comes from ivory palms that are generally found in South America. The ivory palm tree grows wooden-like fruits and when cut open the tagua seed is removed. It can then be transformed into just about anything. Tagua seeds or nuts are used for carvings, jewelry, buttons, billiard balls, canes, beads, and anything you’d traditionally use ivory for.

 

De ninguna manera somos populares en el mundo de los blogs. Rayos, apenas podemos hacer una foto lo suficientemente buena para que la gente nos comente en otros sitios. Pero para aquellos que nos siguen o por accidente nos encontraron en  la web, todos ustedes saben que hemos dedicado este sitio a la cocina y todo lo relacionado con comida. Sin embargo, debido a los cambios de trabajo, he quedado con un montón de tiempo en mis manos. Así que en vez de mirar a una pantalla plasma  durante todo el día esperando ansiosamente hasta que inicie  E! News  a las 12h, me imaginé que iba a poner mis manos a trabajar y hacer algo que siempre me ha gustado hacer – manualidades, más exactamente la fabricación de joyas.

Hace unos 5 años cuando vivía aquí en Bogotá, con una familia muy cercana. La hija menor y yo siempre andamos juntas y ella me habló de artesanías Colombianas. Hacíamos aretes, anillos y collares de pepitas, collares tejidos con pepitas, prácticamente de todo. Cuando regresé a los Estados Unidos quería mantener la afición, pero luego estuve tan  ocupada trabajando de nuevo, mudándome  a otro país, trabajando un poco más y luego planificando mi boda, que  la elaboración quedó en segundo plano. Pero ahora, me he inspirado y he vuelto a hacer una de mis actividades favoritas.

Así que aquí, es parte de mi trabajo. Estaré presentando algunas  cosas a menudo así que por favor estén pendientes de las siguientes  publicaciones. Sé que algunas personas prefieren unicamente las publicaciones sobre comidas . Sin embargo, como se mencionó antes, este blog es un medio por el cual podemos  mostrar a nuestros amigos y familiares lo que estamos haciendo aquí, ya que personalmente no podemos estar con ellos. Además, creo que es una buena manera para dar a conocer  algo que normalmente no se ve en los blogs de artesanías (Artesanías Colombianas).

Podrás darte cuenta que los llaveros están hechos de una semilla llamada tagua. La tagua es básicamente una nuez de marfil. Se trata de un marfil vegetal que viene de las palmas marfiles que generalmente se encuentran en Suramérica. Este  árbol produce frutos que parecen de madera y cuando se abre encontramos la semilla. Luego, se puede transformar en cualquier cosa. La semilla de tagua se puede tallar, hacer joyas, botones, bolas de billar, bastones, pepitas o para reemplazar cualquier cosa que tradicionalmente se haría con marfíl.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 6:19 am

    Cool! I love this! I’m always looking for new and different crafts. Keep em coming.

  2. March 11, 2011 7:11 pm

    I love the colours you’ve used in these key chains – gorgeous! I’ve just blogged about receiving my award and I am thrilled to bits, let me tell you. If I haven’t said it enough, let me again – thankyou, thankyou, thankyou! This blogging business can certainly be tough at times and to be recognised in any form is fantastic. I will certainly be following your blog from now on. Keep the faith girl:)

    • March 13, 2011 12:13 am

      Thanks for your comment. We were just glad to be nominated ourselves and be able to pass it along to someone else who deserved it. I agree about the blogging business, it can be lonely sometimes because only you are seeing the hard work that goes into it. But there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks for following us and hope we can continue sharing recipes with each other. 🙂

  3. April 8, 2011 2:17 am

    I got what you intend, thanks for putting up.

Leave a Reply

