Skip to content

Southern Hospitatlity

March 17, 2011

I remember growing up always denying the fact that I was a southern girl.  Why? Good question.  Not having a southern accent didn’t help either. Every time I spoke people would ask if I was from up north. Not being the lying type, I always told them the truth, but even they wondered why I wasn’t branded with the southern drawl. When I lived in Brooklyn, I felt right at home. I actually understood people more than I did the southerners. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve actually come to embrace and love my southern heritage.

I don’t think I could have been born and raised in any other city. Of course it would have been cool growing up in another big city or town, but Charlotte, North Carolina is just the place for me. It has developed into a wonderful, culturally open, metropolitan city. It did struggle for some time to get ahead and actually I still think it has some more growing to do. However, it is making its name in this world and people are starting to see it for the beautiful city that it is.

Living here in Bogotá is so rewarding and I wouldn’t give it up for the world. But sometimes I do get a little homesick. Emphasis on the word ‘little’. I was going through my pictures and thought that I would post some of them on the blog so people can get to know more about the other half of this cooking duo. I previously posted some pictures of Bogotá, my husband’s hometown and our current city of residence. I am by no means a good photographer, but I thought that these pictures didn’t look so awful that I could post a few here.

Unfortunately there are no fellow food bloggers here in Bogotá (none that we know of). Which is sad because we’d love to communicate and share experiences with others here.  So that prompts me to ask, Are there any food bloggers in Charlotte? I know Willow Bird Making is in Charlotte.  Anyone else? Although we aren’t currently in Charlotte we’d still like to be in touch and support other food bloggers. Hey, you never know, we might be there sooner than you think (smirk).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 4:29 pm

    Taylor Mathis of Taylor Takes a Taste is in Charlotte 🙂 The Queen City would love to have you!

    • March 17, 2011 4:32 pm

      Ah, yes Taylor. That’s right. How could I even forget about him. OH and THANKS for the compliment. We’d love to be there. Maybe soon.

  2. March 22, 2011 8:15 pm

    I’m glad that you have FINALLY embraced your “southerness”. I love being a southern girl. It is who I am and what I am. I wouldn’t have it no other way. Thanks for featuring our wonderful city of Charlotte, NC. I love that it’s not too big and not too small. It’s 2 hours from the mountains and 4 hours from the beach. Perfect! I hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

