Skip to content

Whole-Wheat Blackberry Bread Pudding

March 25, 2011

My earliest memory of bread pudding was a trip that my family and I took to Savannah, Georgia. I remember going down into this old, cobblestone, circa 1785 era alley that looked so dark and dangerous. There was this small cafe/restaurant that was nestled in there and I told my family I wanted to check it out. Thank goodness we did, because it turned out to be a small pastry cafe that sold everything from chocolate cake and creme brulee to bread pudding. But the best thing was that they weren’t some dainty pastries that they were selling, no, they were jam packed full of butter, fat and more fat. And I loved it. Who doesn’t love fat?

That bread pudding was so delicious. I mean it had to have been delicious for me to have remembered it after some 15+ years. So anytime that I see bread pudding or hear people talking about it, it takes me right back to that family vacation. I’d love to go back again, even if it’s just to walk down that same alley again. I love history and food and Savannah definitely is rich with both of them.

Ingredients:

4 beaten eggs

1/2 cup sugar

2 1/2 cups milk (I used heavy cream that I had on hand)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup fruit preserve (recipe below)

6 tbsp melted butter

10 slices of cubed whole wheat bread

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF/175ºC.
  2. Soak the slices of bread in a medium mixing bowl with the cream/milk, sugar and eggs. Roughly 5 minutes.
  3. Add the melted butter and cinnamon to the soaking bread.
  4. Pour the mixture into a baking dish. (I used a rectangle glass baking dish)
  5. Pour the fruit preserves into the baking dish, slightly stirring the pudding as you pour.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes or until the mixture has set.

Blackberry Fruit Preserve

1 cup fresh blackberries

1 cup white sugar

  1. Melt the sugar in a medium saucepan with the berries.
  2. Bring to a simmer and cook until mixture thickens.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

