Skip to content

Triple C Brownies

April 13, 2011

Triple C??? Yep, you read right.  These are the Triple C Brownies. What’s up with the C’s you may ask? Well it’s simple math, there’s 2 part chocolate + 1 part Colombian (pure Colombian cocao chocolate) = Triple C Brownies. 

The star of the show is the chocolate. I’ve never been to Europe so I don’t have a clue what REAL authentic European chocolate tastes like. I mean, I could easily say that Lindt is the best. But I’m sure that’s a slap in the european chocolate’s face. That’d be like saying that Starbucks is the best coffee on Earth. Yeah, that DEFINITELY is not true. Especially seeing as though I’m swarn to the “If You’re Married To Or A Child Of A Colombian You Must Love The Coffee” pact. Ok, I am being a little dramatic, but there is an unwritten pact that is similar to that.


When you taste this dark colombian cocao chocolate, your taste buds will just go into shock. It’s so bitter. Yikes is it bitter. I actually DON’T LIKE chocolate. Yes, I am brave enough to admit it in public. I can’t stand the taste. I hate drinking chocolate milk, eating chocolate ice cream, chocolate cake, chocolate cream pies, chocolate pudding, chocolate anything. But I could eat 20 snickers easily. Without blinking. I love Hershey’s almond chocolates but hate the plain chocolate bars. I think it’s because I need something in between the chocolate to break up that chocolate-y taste. Oh, and I love German Chocolate cakes. Yumm-O!!! And white chocolate? Now that gets my mouth watering. Unfortunately it’s a lot sweeter and richer than your normal dark or milk chocolate, but I’m a diehard fan. And who has a Godiva membership? This chica right here!!!!! I buy tons and tons and tons of their truffles and just eat like it was my last meal. Maybe it’s like a mental thing. I think that’s what it is.

Well, whatever the case, my husband was having withdrawal symptoms and needed a chocolate fix. So he asked me to make brownies. Now, let me just let you know, brownies here in Colombia are not a big thing. If I took a survey, I’d say about 30% of the people here would know what they were. But because I try to Americanize my husband every once in a while, he has now grown to love this american staple. So I started looking on the internet for a basic brownie recipe that I could jazz up. Remember, me and boxed mixes don’t get along. I don’t feel right if it’s not from scratch. Plus, the mix is imported and who knows how long it’s been on the shelf.

 


Ingredients:

2 cups white sugar

4 eggs

2 sticks (8 tbsp/1 cup) butter, melted

2/3 cup chopped chocolate bar (you could definitely use cocoa powder but we didn’t have any)

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350ºF/175ºC and grease your 9×13 baking pan.
  2. In a small bowl mix together sugar, flour, salt, and  baking powder.
  3. Add your eggs to the dry mixture and whisk together.
  4. In another small bowl place the chopped chocolate pieces and pour in the melted butter. Mix together until chocolate is thoroughly combined. If you’d like to have a few chocolate chunks in your brownies, don’t mix it too much.
  5. Pour the chocolate mix into the flour mixture and stir together.
  6. Transfer into the 9×13 pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until done. Insert a toothpick in the center and if it comes out clean it’s done.

* You might be concerned about the amount of sugar and butter. This is because I used 100% unsweetened cocao. It is terribly bitter and in order to balance that out you need to up the sweet factor, hence the 2 cups of sugar. Many recipes call for 1 stick or 1 1/2 sticks of butter. I found that 2 made these brownies super rich and tasty. But you could definitely reduce the amount of butter or substitute it for oil. *

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

